WRITING THROUGH

Sometimes, it just doesn’t work.

You’re sitting there, and the words have disappeared.

The problem is that you need the words to reappear. So what do you do?

It’s no good cruising the internet; those are other people’s words and ideas. You need your own inspiration to sally forth.

There are only so many lists you can make before you start repeating yourself and running out of sticky notes.

You can only have one or two cups of tea and walks around the garden before the day starts to slip away.

Of course, I know this because I’ve been there…quite a few times. I’ll probably head there again at some stage, but I can’t really afford to let it happen too often.

So I’ve developed my own technique of overcoming blocks and apathy. I write a letter to myself, detailing what it is I need to do, how and when.

By the time I’m halfway through, I’m usually doing the writing that was so difficult in the first place. Of course, it typically needs a bit of editing and tweaking, including removal of the salutation that marks completion. But it is a sound step on the way to a completed piece of work.

This, almost without fail, is my method of ‘writing through’, and a good way of realising that the best way of overcoming blocks and barriers is to apply a steady dose of perseverance.

Yours sincerely

Lynda

 


					
One thought on “WRITING THROUGH

Leave a Reply

